Baby D is Born!

Baby D’s Birth

March 24, 2012

8:52 PM

7 lbs., 1 oz.

On March 24th, I gave birth to Baby D!  We were scheduled for a C-section on March 29th, but Baby D decided to come a little earlier than that!

I woke up that morning and had a feeling it was “the day”.  But I “feel” a lot of things and tend to not take my feelings too seriously anymore.

Around 10 AM, I started feeling contractions.  I told Jeff I thought I might be having the baby today and he kinda laughed about it.  We just figured it was Braxton Hicks.  As the day progressed and contractions continued to increase and come closer together, he went from laughing it off to cleaning the house (ha!).  I kept calling the doctor asking if I should go in as the baby is breech and I knew I would have to have a C-section.  [By the way, this was not my normal doctor…This was the doctor on call.]  She continued to suggest that I go to the hospital when my contractions were 5 minutes apart.  On the other line, my mom was increasingly concerned because all of her labors happened within hours.  I had the doctor on one end of the phone telling me to wait and my mom on the other end of the phone urging me to get to the hospital sooner than later.  Good girl that I am, I tried to listen to both and compromised on going to the hospital when my contractions were 10 minutes apart (about 7:00 PM).  By the time I got to the hospital (only 20 minutes from our house), my contractions were 2 – 3 minutes apart.  When the nurse checked me, I was so far along in labor, that I was suddenly surrounded by about 6 people.  Basically, without getting too graphic, Baby D’s foot was presenting.  I had nurses jamming IVs and other things into my body, apologizing profusely.  One nurse was going to wait until my contraction was over to do her task and the other nurse scolded her and said, “We don’t have any time.  Do it now!”  YIKES!!!  Within 20 minutes of getting into the hospital, they had me in the operating room and were prepping me for the C-section.  Once they let Jeff in, I looked at him dumbfounded.  It all happened so quickly that I hardly had time to absorb the fact that I was about to meet our little guy!

A little bit later, we heard Baby D cry for the first time.  Completely healthy, completely perfect.

They brought him over to Jeff to hold right next to me.  It was very surreal.  I couldn’t believe the little guy right next to me was just in my stomach a few minutes earlier.

My recovery from anesthesia could have gone a little better than it did.  It was about six hours before I was able to hold Baby D.  I was very nauseated and lightheaded.  They had to watch me for quite awhile and help me through most of the night.  I held Baby D around 3:00 AM the next morning for the first time and around 5 AM, I was more on the upswing.

As we left the hospital this past Tuesday, I was overwhelmed by the goodness of the Lord.  Both Jeff and I stopped to thank God for His goodness and blessing with each of our kids.

Here are pictures I took of Baby D before leaving the hospital that day…  I wish I could post the pictures the hospital took, but I signed an agreement that I would only post pictures that I purchase.  I haven’t purchased any of them yet, so I am trying to hold to my word.  But they are sooo adorable it saddens me that I can’t share them with you!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baby D is Born!

  1. Monica says:

    Dana, this is so exciting!!! I know I’ve already commented on your facebook page, but I just can’t resist telling you how happy I am again!!! Thank you for sharing these pictures too, he is absolutely beautiful! Love you, Monica

  2. Robeyn says:

    Oh wow! He is perfect Dana. Congratulations.

  3. Sherice says:

    I love the story! And it’s all yOurs! Baby D is the sweetest morsel! God has extraordinary plans for him! And it’s because of your faith and faithfulness! Love you! So proud!

  4. Mary says:

    Baby D is beautiful, as all of your children are. Congratulations. And just in time for Easter. What a way to celebrate Jesus’ resurrection. Bless you and your family.

  5. Val says:

    Congratulations

  6. Pingback: Highlights from Beginning of Foster Parenting Journey to mid 2012 | The Painted Dresser

Leave a Reply

