The Ultrasound

Oh my, it has been soooo long since I have posted a blog.

I wanted to take an opportunity to explain how our ultrasound went when we found out the sex of our baby.

First, here is a picture of me at 21 weeks. I am even bigger now – oh my – but here is a little update on the belly action. 🙂 Never thought I would be so proud of a big belly! ha!


Back to the ultrasound!

We were quite a sight, I am sure, carrying a newborn baby into the ultrasound waiting room. You could just see the confusion on peoples’ faces when Jeff and I checked in. Everyone was there for the same reason – to find out if they were having a boy or girl. Now that I am bigger, the stare I get from people is something I am quite accustomed to. I can see minds reeling asking themselves how I could be that pregnant with such a newborn. If I am wearing my winter jacket, you can’t tell. But, the minute the jacket is off, I can see minds reeling. Too funny if you ask me!

Parts of the ultrasound I didn’t expect. I thought we would hear right away if it was a boy or girl. Instead, as I am sure many of you know, they went through every body part making sure everything was there and considered normal. They checked the heart, kidneys, etc. Part of me felt impatient and part of me was overwhelmed to see all of Baby D’s parts completely whole. As the technician said the word “normal” over and over again, I kept saying, “amazing” over and over again. I am sure that technician must have wondered why I rejoiced every time she used the word “normal”! I didn’t have the time in her “look over” to explain just WHY it is so amazing to hear someone tell us our baby appears normal.

Toward the end, Baby D wasn’t cooperating. I thought we weren’t going to find out what we were having. Then, the tech saw what she needed to see. “That is definitely a boy!” I kind of thought that would be the result before we even walked in. I was happy to hear either way, of course! But, my husband has been the one with ALL the faith and ALL the belief that God would allow us to have a natural child of our own. I think it was God’s reward to him, in some ways, for all the faith he continually carried. I kind of assumed God was going to answer my husband’s desire for a son!

I didn’t cry while we were in the ultrasound room. But, as we drove away, the tears flowed. “Normal” resonated a tune of gratitude in my heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Ultrasound

  1. Rhonda says:

    Very excited as you approach this journey…many more blessings to come!!!

  2. Robeyn says:

    Congratulations on having a boy Jeff & Dana! I almost cried myself right here in the office. Love you guys.

  3. Monica says:

    Dana I was so excited reading this!!! How special, all these years you have waited for ONE baby, and now people are wondering how you can have a newborn and be pregnant at the same time! And you have two more beautiful children at home. Praise God for His faithfulness! Rejoicing for you and Jeff out here in CA! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

