Heavenly Minded vs. Earthly Good

Acts 10 is a very RICH chapter.

This time upon reading it, there was something that burst in my heart. It is a simple thing, yet hasn’t stopped repeating itself to my soul.

While Peter was on the rooftop, waiting for lunch, God gives him a vision. The vision itself was HUGE and MONUMENTAL regarding the Jewish thoughts toward Christianity at the time.

However, that is not what struck me this time.

Instead, it was verses 17 – 20 that impacted me:

17 While Peter was wondering about the meaning of the vision, the men sent by Cornelius found out where Simon’s house was and stopped at the gate. 18 They called out, asking if Simon who was known as Peter was staying there.  19 While Peter was still thinking about the vision, the Spirit said to him, “Simon, three men are looking for you. 20 So get up and go downstairs. Do not hesitate to go with them, for I have sent them.”

Have you ever heard that some people are so “heavenly minded they are no earthly good”? You know – they have their head up in the clouds. They are so focused on the things of God that they miss regular responsibilities that are part of living in this world.

For instance, I might fall into that category at this present time. My kitchen is messy, I have food to put away from Sam’s Club and, instead, I am here writing about something God spoke to my heart. LOL…….Well……… I guess that since I am about to do those responsibilities, I don’t ACTUALLY fit into that category… But – you get what I mean – right?

IT SUDDENLY DAWNED ON ME THAT PEOPLE WHO ARE TRULY HEAVENLY MINDED ARE ONLY EARTHLY GOOD.

Peter was caught up in the vision he saw. He was thinking and meditating on it. It so clearly penetrated his heart and he was likely mulling it over in prayer. “What did that mean exactly, God?” “Are you saying what I really think you are saying?” “How can it be?”

Meanwhile, those sent from the Centurion are at the gate calling out. Not verbatim, but basically saying, “Peter! You there? Peeetttteeeeerrrrr!!!!”

Peter never heard them. He was enraptured in his vision and God directed thoughts.

He was so focused on the things of God that GOD had to tell him (once again, not verbatim), “Hey – there are people at the door for you. Please go to them.”

And that’s what hit me.

I want to be like that.

All day long.

That I would hear the voice of God BETTER than the voice of those calling out my name around me.

I want him to speak to me in the little things that I can bypass if I am too focused on my schedule and what all needs to get done.

“Dana, look, your son seems down. Why don’t you hug him and ask him what is on his mind?”

“Dana, your daughter has asked to be picked up this morning three times. How about you stop what you are doing and take time to read a book together. She is in need of affirmation right now.”

Simple acts, such as these, can be led by God and not just my maternal instinct. And, just like Peter answering the door, a simple act can lead to monumental moments. The thrill of following Christ is that with each simple act of obedience, I wonder what God will do next. Not FOR me, but WITH me and FOR those around me.

Peter moments are available to us too, no matter our calling or purpose.

But, only IF our heart is in tune to hear God speak.

I want His voice to be clearer than all the other voices I hear.

I want Christ more than anything. I want His presence, His voice and His leading in my life so desperately….

I want to be so heavenly minded that I am ONLY earthly good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heavenly Minded vs. Earthly Good

  1. Lorrie Coleman says:

    Dana, this is so beautiful.. I always enjoy reading your blog, but this one really spoke to me tonight…as a single woman with no children, my circumstances are different than yours but I cannot live or survive without hearing the voice of the Lord speaking into my life–I couldn’t function at all without it. Bless you for sharing your heart.

    • Thanks Lorrie. As with all the Bible, no matter what our calling and place in life is, it APPLIES. Isn’t it beautiful how God can minister the same concept to us and yet have limitless applications!

Leave a Reply

