Rock A Bye Baby

My sweet little guy still likes to be rocked (yeah, don’t tell his friends).

The other day as I was praying and singing before his bedtime, he asked if I could rock him. For a minute I hesitated. It was bedtime, we were already doing our ritual…and yet something flagged in my heart. The thought process: Maybe he needs a little extra lovin’. Maybe he needs to be held. Maybe I need to remember how much I will miss these cuddling moments when he is older and too cool to want to be held. Maybe he is making up for lost time.

So, I led him by the hand to my room (as I don’t have a rocking chair) and rocked him on my bed. I sang bedtime songs. I prayed for him. And he grinned from ear to ear.

Now, every night he wants to be rocked. And that is not a bad thing! I want him to feel every ounce of love I have for him. If this is what he wants, I can do it!

It reminds me of the favors I handed out at our adoption celebration party:

I am so glad Little Brother and Little Sister are our MATCH. I wouldn’t want anything more than to rock my kids to sleep at night – no matter how old they are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

