It’s Official!

On February 24, 2011, we officially became Mom and Dad to Little Brother and Little Sister!!!  Words can’t describe the depth of joy inside us to know we are officially theirs and they are officially ours.

For many years, I longed to hear the name “Mommy”…  Now, I hear “Mommy” without end!

I longed to rock my baby to sleep…  Now, I have two bedtime routines that includes hugs, kisses, and cuddling.

Even a simple thing, such as walking into a store with tiny hands clasped to mine, is full of richness.

I walk these halls of parenting with an explosion of gratitude.

Last month, Little Brother told me:  “Mommy, I love you. I remember when you came to pick me up at the Children’s Center. I couldn’t have asked for a mom better than you.”

I too remember the day I picked him up at the Children’s Center.  He had been dropped off at the Children’s Center by his last foster mom (translation: she suddenly kicked him out of her house) and spent the entire day with his caseworker.  The day was so traumatic for him that he threw up and they had to find another set of clothes for him to change into.  Apparently, when the caseworker provided him a McDonald’s meal, he completely scarfed it down.  He came to the Children’s Center that day having been in five foster homes in less than a year.  He came with more hurt than many of us experience at all in our lives.

When I went to pick him up, the elevator doors opened and I saw Little Brother for the first time.  The caseworker was holding him and he was wrapped in a Barney sleeping bag.  As I waited for the caseworker to bring me paperwork, Little Brother and I sat down in the waiting room to talk.  I held him in my arms.  He smiled cheerfully and after only a few moments of acquainting ourselves quickly said, “I want to come to YOUR house.”  That is very typical of foster children – to be very comfortable with complete strangers.  However, I also remember thinking that Little Brother must have felt safe for the first time in a long time.

When Little Sister came for her first overnight visit, I fell in instant mommy love with her.   I remember her standing on our kitchen stool.  Something happened in that moment.  As I crossed the kitchen to be near her, I suddenly felt such deep love that it almost brought pain to my stomach.  I remember where I was in our kitchen.  I remember the moment in time.  I remember wanting to scoop her up and tell her everything will be ok.  I instantly wanted to protect and guard her.  Somehow I knew I was going to be her mommy.

To see Little Brother and Little Sister interact and love on each other – and, yes, even fight…  Well…I realize the outcome is as it should be.  They are meant to be together and somehow God knew we could be their Mom and Dad.

THANK YOU LORD!

Little Brother and Little Boy – the first week Little Brother moved here.

Little Brother the first week he moved here.

Little Sister the day I fell in Mommy Love with her.  This was the moment I knew I would become her Mommy…

Little Sister celebrating her 2nd birthday just a week after moving here!

Little Sister and Little Brother the first month they moved here…One of my favorite pics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Official!

  1. Laura Brollier says:

    Your story is so divinely inspired that it brought tears to my eyes! So happy for you, Dana! What a blessing that you shared it. We experienced miscarriage after our first child and then had our second child. I found that even with just a miscarriage and not lengthy infertility that there were so many women who experienced the same thing. It really seems to be a hushed subject until you become a “member of the club” of hurting women. Thank you for sharing. It is my prayer that this blog will aide other hurting women to find healing from the balm that only Christ can give. What a blessing to hear your personal story. Thank you.
    Your friend from CBC class of 2001,
    Laura (Fritsche) Brollier

  2. Laura, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful comment. Yes – you are completely right. I also did not realize how common miscarriage and infertility was until I experienced it and ladies around me came out of the woodwork to share their same loss. I am so grateful to not be alone in this and to be able to reach out to those around me in my common experience. Sharing my loss with these ladies became one of the avenues God used to heal my heart.

    What a beautiful miracle to see God bless you and your husband with two children! I am so happy for you!!!

Leave a Reply

