I am still here…

I am still alive and well….

We are very close to finalization for the little ones in our home!  Yay!!!

We have gone through a lot and can’t wait for the adoption to be complete!

Do you know why I haven’t updated my blog much lately?  It is because not all fronts at the house are going smoothly.  From previous posts, it is likely you have already noticed.

I am so concerned with being fake that it has held me back from presenting all the cute, great and glorious things.  I am concerned that it could seem to be a facade – the happiest home on earth with never a problem.  The truth is that I don’t feel comfortable sharing everything going on.  No worries folks – the marriage front is great.  Just in regards to parenting – and some things are sensitive areas.

So – here’s a question for anyone reading this:

Would you feel I am fake if I tell you all the great things and keep out some of the “not-so-great” things so I can protect one of my kids?

If you can, leave me a comment with your opinion of my future blog content.  Can it just be all the great stuff and some of the minor challenges that wouldn’t hurt my kiddos?

(I do understand my content is up to me, but just curious of your opinion in the matter)…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am still here…

  1. Heather says:

    Fake? No. Wise? Yes. I love to hear from you on here – your stories, your challenges (the minor less private ones), and your wise words. Keep up the great work. And, you are in no ways fake.

  2. ritacline says:

    Dana,

    We both know privacy for foster children is important. I think sharing the minor mishaps in life keeps us real. Of course sharing the joys is the easiest but some homes are filled with joy….especially when God is the center of the home! Life happens. It is up to your discretion what to share and what to keep in the family. For me seeing the challenges you face reminds me that parenting in general is not a piece of cake. But it also awesome to see how far you and your children have come! We pray for you. We know what you are doing is making a difference in the children’s lives you touch! And no one said that just because you blog means you have to share. You blog with no obligation. Share the stories you want and make memories of your family in the privacy of your home. I think with all of the social networking out there people feel like they must share everything or even worse….know everything about everyone. The truth is….no you don’t and not everyone is entitled to be in “the know.” Cherish your precious family Dana!

  3. Liz says:

    Dana, no it’s not being fake. It’s called using wisdom. When you put anything on the internet, it’s there forever. Your children can and may (in the future) read these posts. I have always heard the phrase that you “praise in public and discipline in private.” The internet is a definite public place. Another issue for you is the situation of the children–I’m sure that you don’t want to say or do anything that would impact it negatively for them or any future children that may come into your home. I know that God will give you wisdom about what to post. We know that you are not perfect and, besides, the only standard you have to meet is God’s (not ours, the readers). You are an awesome woman of God who is making an impact on His kingdom. Keep posting–knowing that you are loved by us, the readers, and more importantly by your Heavenly Father.

  4. Bonnie Dyer says:

    Hey Dana, I don’t know if you remember me or not, but I met you a couple months back at RT. I was a part of the team that came to help out with kids ministry and I was given the opportunity to hang out with one of your “kiddos” 🙂 I was so excited when I talked to you and perhaps this comment is a little late. =/ I have been keeping up with your blog ever since you gave me the link to it and even catching up on older posts from before.
    I for one, love hearing about the progress and fun you have with the kids. I completely understand the need to keep certain things private and will continue to support and read. You know better than any of your readers that this act of holding back certain stories does not make you fake, it makes you protective of your kids and their feelings, a very REAL characteristic of a mother.
    That being said, if at any time you are experiencing difficulties and do not wish to post about it but would like prayer, feel free to Email me. I will be praying for you and the kids regardless. 🙂

  5. Laurie says:

    Dana,
    I agree with all the comments! We parents understand that there will be difficult times raising our children, but that does not mean we have to air all of the issues we deal with. I know you are a wise woman and if you really needed help or need to just get some advice from another parent, you wouldn’t post it on the internet!
    I love reading about this journey that God is taking you and Jeff on, but I don’t need to know EVERYTHING!! Our children, whether foster children or biological children, need to trust us that we will not go and tell everyone their faults! They are need to feel that there is safety in making mistakes or learning a difficult lesson.
    You are NOT being Fake at all!!! You have never stated that everything is perfect. If you had, then I would say you were being fake. I love how real you are and the concern you have for how we see you. We don’t see what you see, we see a woman who adores those put in her care and a woman who seeks the Lord and uses wisdom!
    You are a beautiful woman of God!!

    I love you!

  6. Each of you wrote such meaningful and well thought out responses. Thank you so much. I really appreciate it…It encouraged me to go with my heart. I never want to misrepresent our family whether to show a facade or whether to show it all.

    Thanks for your wisdom(s) in this.

    And Bonnie – so great to hear from you! I love it that you commented and shared – it means so much!

  7. Diane Campbell says:

    Dana,
    Your such a wise and Godly women. Nothing fake about you. God bless you , your husband and your beautiful children.

Leave a Reply

