My Birthday.

I felt so loved on my birthday this year!  Having a birthday a few days before Christmas can often make it less special…but I have never felt like that.  When I was a kid, my parents always did special things for my birthday despite the approaching Christmas holiday.

Of course, now that I am 32 (YIKES!), birthday celebrations are no longer important to me.  What means more to me – especially as a mom – are simple things.  Kids getting coffee for me, getting more hugs than usual…  That little extra pick me up that reminds me I am special to my family (words of affirmation are my thing)…

When I woke up on my birthday, I reached for my glasses (yes, I am blind!) and groggily put them on.  Looking at my dresser, there was an envelope from Jeff.  Enclosed was a sentimental card that said just the right thing…  I was touched.  Jeff had already given me a birthday present, which he didn’t have to do….but he was sure racking up the points with his thoughtful words.  I didn’t expect anything else except a relaxing day at home.

As I went into Big Brother’s room, he approached me completely lit up.  “Mommy, Mommy!  I have a card for you and it gets really big!”  I opened it up…It was a card you open and then unfold and unfold again.  The end result is a huge picture that says “I love you!”  I loved how excited Big Brother was to give me the card and I saw my husband’s handwriting all over it.  I was so touched that he took the time to include the kids.

Next, to Little Sister’s room.  On her chest stool, there was a hot pink envelope with yet another card from “Little Sister” (and Jeff’s handwriting).  The kids enjoyed giving me cards and delighted in the fact it was my birthday.  Little Sister of course asked, “When will it be MY birthday?”  🙂

When we got to the dining room to serve breakfast, there was a gift and card from TD.  I was very touched that she took the time to make me a card and used her own money to make me feel special that day.  Later I found out that she was waiting and waiting for me to go to bed that night so she could sneak the gift downstairs.  I didn’t go to bed until about 1:30 AM that night and she had to wait that long!  ha ha!

All day long, Little Brother came up to me and hugged me and saying, “Happy Birthday, Mommy, I love you.”

It was such a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

