Thanksgiving

As Thanksgiving 2010 approaches, there is so much to be thankful for.  

Top of the list is of course – JESUS.  He has been patient, gracious and merciful to me every day of my life.  There is not enough room in this blog to list every single way He has loved me unconditionally.  I am always humbled to think that Jesus loves me.

Secondly, I have a wonderful husband who has been kind, loving and faithful to me.  As wives, our husband’s faithfulness to us can easily be taken for granted – especially when we are used to it.  I always try to keep in the forefront of my mind how much of a treasure it is to be able to trust my husband and know he is only mine.  Not to mention all the times he has made me laugh, encouraged me, and showed himself to be the best Daddy ever.  He is the love of my life.

Now, for the tears.

I am grateful for our children.  So many Thanksgivings we did not have children.  Two years ago on Thanksgiving, I miscarried.  But, this Thursday when our families gather, I will hear, “Mommy”.  I can’t describe just how beautiful it is to hear “Mommy” when I wasn’t able to hear it for so long.

There is a song I sang at a wedding recently that is a love song.  It is supposed to be from man to woman, however, the words brought me to our precious children.  Should you wish to hear it, here is the link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCHIH5ZH1o8.  Especially, the line that says, “When God made you, He must have been thinking about me.”

So many times I prayed for children.  So many times.  I am so grateful God heard our cry.

Little Brother made a craft in his children’s church class yesterday.  When I arrived to pick him up from class, the teacher told me that I would cry when I saw the things he wanted to say he was grateful for (in his own words).  One of them (as shown above) read:  “I thank God for all my family has done for me.”

It is amazing that when God makes something GOOD, He does it for all involved.  I so often thank God for all our children have “done for us” that I forget how much they feel the same…  Especially Little Brother, who remembers a lot of his experiences prior to coming here.

There are many, many things I am grateful for, but for this blog entry, I just have to say I am thankful for Jesus, my husband, and my children.

I feel rich with love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. Laurie says:

    I am so grateful for your beautiful family too! You and Jeff are so deserving of their love and they are so deserving of your love! I am amazed at how God has brought these beautiful children into your lives!!
    Have a very wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

  2. Thanks so much Laurie. Praying you have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well. Praying for your family and we love you so much.

  3. Alexandria says:

    I hope you enjoy this Thanksgiving with your beautiful family and many more to come. It brings me much joy to see the children with you and knowing they will have a real family Thanksgiving. I praise God and am so thankful for what He has done…be blessed!!!

  4. Netta says:

    Hi Dana…
    THANK YOU SO MUCH for commenting on my blog! Your comments are wonderful and I really appreciate the time you spent sharing them!

    AND… I was behind & had NO idea that your home is now filled with Children! Thank you, JESUS! Last weekend I saw Jeff w/one of your sons and just rejoiced!!!!
    Praise JESUS!

    Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

