“Dear Jesus…”

My heart was so warmed today.

My little ones needed to see the doctor today and as we waited for a prescription to be filled, we seated ourselves in the large main entry waiting room of the medical clinic.

Little Brother started running laps in the waiting area (what’s new?).  I actually wouldn’t have minded because the waiting area was mostly empty.  However, a mother had just come in with her eight year old.  The little girl was clearly very sick as she laid on her mother’s lap.

I explained to Little Brother that we need to think of people around us.  “How do you feel when you are sick and hear loud noises?”

“I don’t like it.”

“Do you see there is a girl over there feeling really sick?”

“Yes.”

“She might not like to have noises around her right now.”

“Well, we should pray for her.”

“Yes, we should.  Would you like to go over and ask her Mommy if you can pray for her?”

He kind of stalled as it might make him feel uncomfortable.

I then offered, “Or would you like to pray here for her?”

“Yeah, I would.”

“Ok, go ahead.”

“Dear Jesus, I pray for that little girl over there who is sick.  Please help her feel better.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.”

After praying, Little Sister piped up, “I want to pray for her too.”

“Would you like to go over there?”

“Yes.”

So, we walked over there together and I told the mother, “My little girl saw your daughter is sick and wants to know if she can pray for her?”

“Why, yes, of course.”

“Ok, Lanya – go ahead.”  Little Sister froze and I could tell she suddenly felt on the spot.

“Can Mommy help you pray?”

“Yes.”

“Dear Jesus, we pray for this little girl who is not feeling well.  We pray you would heal her and help her feel better soon.  In Jesus name we pray, Amen.”

As I said the word “Amen”, Little Sister joined in loudly, “Ayyyyhhhhmen!”

The mother was clearly touched and my heart soared to see my kids minister to others.  They have such tender hearts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Dear Jesus…”

  1. Heather L. says:

    You’re the best momma EVER! I love reading your blog, Dana. Every post, every time. LOVE it. 🙂

  2. Cortney says:

    Awww….this was such a touching story. I could hear their little voices as I was reading. What a heartwarming moment.

Leave a Reply

