Touching Moment. Tuesday, May 18, 2010

My husband is not one for words.  He is the kind of guy who likes to DO things to show his love.  And he DOES things all the time to show me he loves me.  ALL THE TIME.

But, he is not one for words.  So, when he says something meaningful, it means so much more simply because he is speaking the truth when he compliments.

Today, he was leaving for work after taking TD to school (one of the things he does to show me his love).  I, on the other hand, woke up very groggy today. I haven’t been feeling the best, but I also didn’t get as much sleep as normal because of a design job I worked on later in the evening than normal.  As he was about to leave, I felt guilty as I realized I had not given him a hug or kiss or barely acknowledged him.  I had been so busy directing the kids and finalizing portions of my work that I had hardly taken notice of him.

I turned to him and said, “Honey, do you know I love you so much?  I am sorry I have been so absorbed in myself this morning.”

He said, “I know you love me.  In fact, I feel us coming together closer in love.”

For a guy who says romantic things all the time, that might have been a dime a dozen compliment.  But, for Jeff to have said it made my heart swell this morning.  Here I was with my hair all over the place, dark circles under my eyes, in my pj’s, a little bit on the cranky side…  And he said the best thing to me in that moment – something I will truly remember for years to come.

We have faced challenges as described in previous blogs, but have truly come together as a team.   We are consistent with our discipline, we never disagree (regarding discipline) in front of the children and we fully support each other in our decisions.  Parenting this way gives a such a boost of encouragement and peace.  No matter who is with the kids, we as parents know we are completely on the same page.

I have always been madly in love with Jeff, but I know what he means when he says we are coming closer together.  There is something in parenting as a team that ups the love bank.  It discreetly says I love you and trust you to make the exact same decision I would have made.  It is a way of showing respect and honor to each other.  It makes you feel even closer to each other.

I am so thankful for the husband God hand picked for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Touching Moment. Tuesday, May 18, 2010

  1. The Lundgrens
    sweet!! And OH SO TRUE!
    We’ve had some very rough nights the last 6 weeks (due to an incredibly persistent ear infection)
    We’re up all night and take shifts and fumble around the house at ungodly hours 🙂 but anyway, at one point last night in the madness, we stole a quick kiss. No words. A quick glance afterwards. A meaningful “We’re in this together and we’re gonna make it” kind of moment.
    The Lord is good and knows just how to put couples and families together.
    Sunday, May 23, 2010 – 01:57 PM

Leave a Reply

