To Laugh or Not to Laugh Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Last night, TD and I went out to get a new dress for her to wear for today’s luncheon with Mrs. Obama.  A simple conversation with her turned into a bit of a revelation for me.  TD impacted me last night with just a few simple words.

When we arrived back home, I popped the hatch of our car so we could retrieve the shopping bags.  After getting the bags out, I reached up to close the hatch, but waited to actually close it until TD was not in harm’s way.  She didn’t realize I was waiting and ran out of the way of the hatch and said something to the effect of, “Whoa, watch out for my head!”

“Don’t worry, I wasn’t going to close it until you were out of the way.”

“Oh.  My sister did that once.”

“Huh?”

“She hit her head with her car’s hatch.”

I started laughing out loud and said, “Oh, that is so funny.”

“I would never laugh at my sister, it had to hurt so much.”

“Yeah, but I bet looking back on it you guys have a good laugh over it.”

“No, not really.”

I said, “Oh, my family laughs at each other when we get hurt.”

This is where her words grabbed my heart:  “That’s because you grew up with your family.  I didn’t get to grow up with my sister and I love her and would never want to hurt her feelings.”

WOW – what could I say?  She is so right.  The more we appreciate our time with someone, the more careful we tend to manage our words and time with each other.  If we get to see each other all the time, something switches in our brains.  We start to gradually take each other for granted and let ourselves say things that come to our mind because – hey – they will always be there.

What an incredible illustration of how to treat those we love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

