My Little Cutie. Tuesday, June 8, 2010

This morning, I read a book to Little Boy and Little Sister.  As I turned the page, the illustration happened to include a row of candles as decoration on a fireplace mantle.

Little Sister’s interest clearly peaked as she pointed her little two year old finger at the candles.  She then looked at me and began to sing: “Hoppy Burfday, Hoppy Burfday…[the only words she knew]”  If I could only recreate for you the timing, how it sounded and the expression on her face!  Both Little Boy and I busted out laughing.  She continued to sing it louder and louder.  Too funny!

Little Sister is learning opposites and initiates conversation when she experiences or sees one.  “Mommy, can you please open this?”  “Sure.”  “Open, Close.  That’s an opposite, Mommy.”  She and Little Boy are fast learners.

She has come to enjoy rhythms.  Things such as “Five Silly Monkeys Jumping on the Bed” or “The Foot Book”.  Anything with a rhyme has her immediate interest.

For some reason Jeff has taken it upon himself to say this little poem in front of the kids [ha ha]:

Birdie, Birdie, in the sky

Dropped some whitewash in my eye

I’m a boy, I won’t cry

Thank God cows don’t fly

Little Sister has taken hold of this poem, but can’t get beyond the first line yet (thank goodness!).  When we ride in the car, she will she a bird fly in the sky and say, “Look!  A birdie!”  Without delay, she begins reciting, “Bawdie, Bawdie, up in the sty, Bawdie, Bawdie, up in the sty…”  And let me tell you – she could go for a full 20 minutes straight just saying this single phrase.

Every night, I hear the same request:  “I want you to wock [rock] me mommy.”  The agreement is I will rock her if she closes her eyes and doesn’t talk.  Every night I have to keep myself from laughing out loud.  She shuts her eyes so hard that her eyes look wrinkled in.  She won’t move until she knows I am putting her in her crib.  She wants that “wock” to last a long time.  I always wish I could take a picture of her face when she does this…It is simply hilarious.

I love this little girl all wrapped up in the sweet personality God gave her.  I love her chubby little toddler arms and legs.  I love to see her learn.  She just sparkles to me.

I’ll never forget that the first time she came to visit our house overnight, I instantly loved her so much that my chest hurt.  I don’t know how to describe the motherly feeling that came over me when I picked her up that first visit.  It was like everything had already been decided for me and Jeff and we were just in the middle of the journey walking it out.

God, You are great.  You do miracles so great, there is no one else like you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Little Cutie. Tuesday, June 8, 2010

  1. Becki
    Dana, what you just described is truly a mama’s heart. I’ve believed in love at first sight since the day my son was born; there is nothing else like it in the world. God bless you guys and your sweet little (and teenage) ones. 🙂
    Wednesday, June 9, 2010 – 09:22 AM

  2. Anonymous
    beatuiful, I love the phrase “She sparkles to me”…powerful….!
    Its is nie to see you so happy
    Thursday, July 1, 2010 – 07:37 AM

  3. penny
    the above commert was from me…penny mcclanahan

Leave a Reply

