My First Mother’s Day Monday, May 10, 2010

My first Mother’s Day was such a privilege and honor to participate in.

Upon waking up, there were beautiful red roses, cards, and perfume.  Jeff wrote an ultra-sweet card (made me cry) and the kids gave me a funny one.  Their card started out sounding sweet…mothers deserve a day of recognition, etc. etc.  “And they also deserve a little….”  Upon turning the card’s page, the card’s song played full blast:  “R-E-S-P-E-C-T Find out what it means to me…” (By Aretha Franklin)  TOO FUNNY!  It made me laugh out loud.  Especially after all the times I have told ALL the kids that they need to speak, act, and behave respectfully!  I could just imagine TD picking that card out especially for me…  She knows how much respect means to me.  Ha ha   LOL

It was a wonderful day to finally be able to celebrate!!!

On the other hand, having went through many sorrowful mother’s days (I will be honest and transparent with you that this particular day has not always been easy for me), my heart was thinking a lot more of those around me I knew that either had experienced miscarriage or have been told they are unable to have children.  My heart was reminded of their pain.  I empathized with them.  This is not an easy day for the barren.

Honestly, in many ways, I didn’t feel I totally deserved to be part of the group of mothers that went up front (in our church service) to be recognized.  I mean, I am a mother to these precious children, but I am not officially their mother at this time.  In my home I feel like mom, but wasn’t sure how I felt about going up front and calling myself a mom.  I kind of felt like I didn’t belong.  I know that is not true, but I am just stating exactly how I felt.

However, all that said –  A HUGE THANK YOU to my husband and foster children for making me feel special yesterday.  They showered me with cards, nice words, craft projects from church and gifts.  They took care of lunch for the family and the little ones gave me at least 30 kisses throughout the day.  I felt very loved and appreciated by my family.

Also, many of you emailed, texted, or spoke with me in person………Thank you for how you welcomed me into my first mother’s day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Mother’s Day Monday, May 10, 2010

  1. Heather
    Oh, Dana, I’m SO glad to hear about your first Mother’s Day! I thought about you all day long! Can’t wait to give my testimony on the other side when I can finally ENJOY my first Mother’s Day. 🙂
    Monday, May 10, 2010 – 02:26 PM

  2. Kathy
    Dana, you are so deserving of the title of MOM and should not feel uncomfortable and undeserving of the title. I know these children are not blood related (and that is hard) but you are truly a MOM to those God has place in your care. HAPPY FIRST MOTHER’S DAY!!!!!!!!!!!
    Monday, May 10, 2010 – 11:04 PM

  3. Monica
    Dana I wanted to wish you Happy Mother’s Day at church but I didn’t catch you in time! To be honest, when you went up front I had tears in my eyes because I was so happy for you. And later Nick mentioned (before I said anything!) how special it was that you had your first Mother’s Day! You are such a wonderful mom to those kids and an amazing friend to us. We are so grateful to have you and Jeff in our lives. Love, Monica
    Tuesday, May 11, 2010 – 07:58 PM

Leave a Reply

