Meeting Their New Grandpa and Grandma Tuesday, June 1, 2010

My parents were able to come visit us for Memorial Day weekend!  It was so good to see them and to be able to introduce them to TD, Little Boy and Little Sister for the first time!

The whole week, Little Boy told me that when he saw them come here, he would run to them really fast and give them a big hug.  He also told me that, “One boy can sleep in my bed and the other boy can sleep in yours.”  HA HA  Needless to say, I am not sure what his understanding of grandparents was.  🙂

He and Little Sister learned really quick!

They play with you.

They give you all the attention you want.

They teach you things.

They laugh at every joke.

They let you be the center of attention at all times.

From my perspective, it was an amazing moment in many ways.

Little Boy charmed them right away.  He held to his word and ran to them with all his might when they got here and jumped right into their arms with hugs!  He played games, talked a mile a minute, and hugged and hugged and hugged.

Little Sister was shy at first and then warmed up.  My mom and she had a jewelry wearing session (which broke all barriers of shyness), baby dressing time (complete with stretch hairband “glasses” to match Little Sister), and climbing on Grandpa time.

I saw my parents interact with TD and watched TD be completely herself.  I thought she might be guarded as she didn’t know them, but she opened right up.  She initiated conversation, card games, and genuinely wanted to hang out with them.  I can’t describe just how much it meant to me to see her in her own skin interacting with my Mom and Dad.  It was a “full circle” moment for me.

As I watched my parents love on our kids – I almost couldn’t contain the surges of joy/tears hammering my heart.   It was just a “meant to be” moment where we all came together and “that was that”.  It just worked and it was right.

It was such an honor to introduce our kids to their new Grandpa and Grandma.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meeting Their New Grandpa and Grandma Tuesday, June 1, 2010

  1. Monica
    That is so exciting Dana! I’m sure it WAS a special moment for them to meet & spend time together. What a beautiful family 🙂
    Friday, June 4, 2010 – 08:39 AM

Leave a Reply

