I Don’t Think We Ever Told You This Before… Friday, July 2, 2010

The other day, I was putting Little Boy to bed.  He hugged me and said, “You’re the bestest Mommy…I love you.”

My response is always:  “I love you too – with ALL my heart.”

Then, we had a very important conversation…and it just happened so naturally.

“Little Boy, I don’t think I have told you something about Daddy and me yet.”

“What?” he asked with his full attention clearly captured.

“Before you came to live here, Daddy and Mommy wanted to have a baby really bad, but we found out we couldn’t.”

“You did?  Before I came here?”

“Yes.  You probably didn’t know this, but I used to cry and cry all the time.  We wanted to have kids in our home so much.”

“For how long did you cry?”

“For almost seven years.”

“Seven years?”

“Yes, but then you, Little Sister and TD moved here and we don’t have to cry anymore.”

“Why did we move here?”

“Because Jesus saw that you are all special children who needed a Daddy and Mommy who could take good care of you.  And then Jesus saw us crying and saw how sad we were without kids in our home.”

“For how many years did you cry again?” he said with glee in his eyes.

“For a long time.  And you know what?  Jesus knew that you, Little Sister and TD would be safe and loved in our home and Jesus also knew how happy we would be to have you become our children.”

“He did?”

“Yes!”

“I’m so happy that I live in this home.”

“We are happy you live in this home too.  We are so happy that you are our son.  We will always love you.”

And just as quickly as the conversation came, it went.  We then proceeded with our usual night time prayers and songs…  But the sweetness of our conversation remained with me long afterwards.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Don’t Think We Ever Told You This Before… Friday, July 2, 2010

  1. penny
    very sweet, honest, thanks for sharing. …and I’m sorry you had to cry for so long…
    Friday, July 2, 2010 – 08:54 PM

  2. Sherice
    I just adore you all so much. What a need to you are helping to fill in his life… love. You are doing such a wonderful job with God’s little children, keep it up!
    Tuesday, July 6, 2010 – 06:30 PM

  3. Monica
    Dana, this is so sweet. It really fills my heart with joy to hear your words. Love you lots.
    Friday, July 9, 2010 – 05:46 PM

Leave a Reply

