Her Eyes Were Telling Me… Wednesday, August 25, 2010

The other day I was praying and lifting my heart before God.  I was asking Him to forgive me for once again straying from the priority of knowing Him before my husband, kids, and extracurricular things.  I always find this to be my struggle – even when I say “this is going to be my devotion time no matter what” – it is amazing how things tend to rise up during my dedicated time.  OR – I find myself fighting to stay focused as everything I need to do begins to pop into my mind one by one.  

Yet, God is so merciful and gracious.  He sees our faithful effort, even when we don’t implement every plan we set for ourselves.

It reminds me a little of how Jeff and I came to own our Lab Mix dog.  It might seem like a tangent – but stick with me…There is a point to this!

He was at a store doing business when he heard a dog yelp.

I don’t know about you, but when I hear a dog yelp in pain, it breaks my heart.  Especially because dogs have the natural defense mechanism of hiding pain.  It is only when a dog feels intense pain that a yelp will escape their mouth.

Jeff heard the yelp and saw a store owner yelling at a dog to “get out of here!”  Quickly, Jeff realized the dog had been hit by a car and saw it limping away.  Jeff decided to follow the dog to see what he could do.  It took him a minute to find the dog and when he did, his heart melted.  The dog was shivering (in the dead cold of winter) with its back against a church’s heat exhaust.  The dog had been stray for at least a little while because it had a scar on its head from defending itself against another dog.  As blood was running out of its injured leg, the dog looked up at him with big brown eyes.  Jeff said he saw her eyes and they were telling me, “Please help me, I don’t know what to do.”  Enticing her with beef jerky, he was able to get her in his work truck and take her to the local humane society.  After a few days, she received vaccinations, healing ointments and we went back and adopted her.  She has now been with us for four years and is so devoted to us.

This same picture of our dog’s adoption is how I felt the other day when I was praying.  I felt like I was shivering in the cold of my own poor priority making and was looking up to God with my “big blue eyes” saying, “Please come help me.  I am cold out here.  I don’t know what I am doing.  I don’t know how to defend myself.  Can you please come help me, I can’t do it on my own.”

As I asked Him to forgive me, I felt a sudden rush of His presence envelop me.  I instantly had the picture of Jesus RUNNING to me.  He doesn’t waste any time.  He sees a heart seeking after Him and he rushes to the scene.  For quite some time, I just sat there immersed in His near presence and all I can say is thank you Lord for the kindness you have poured out to me.  Thank you for never giving up on me.  Thank you for hearing the cry of my heart and never leaving me alone.

Thank you Jesus.  So much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Her Eyes Were Telling Me… Wednesday, August 25, 2010

  1. Sue Saad
    Dana you may want to read the book that Tommy Tenny’s wife and mother coauthored. I think it is called being a God Chaser while being a Kid Chaser. It really gives some practical advice and insight into being a busy mom and devoted christian. It has helped me a lot. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. : )
    Wednesday, August 25, 2010 – 09:38 PM

  2. Dana
    I will take your suggestion Sue! Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

