We Will Always Have Food. Sunday, March 21, 2010

Tonight as we finished dinner, Little Boy asked for cake for dessert.  Upon dishing up his dessert, Big Boy enticed Little Boy to leave the table and chase him around the first floor.

“I’m gonna eat your cake,” I called out in hopes of his quick return.

He ran to me sobbing, “No!!!!  You gonna eat my cake.”  Sobbing, sobbing, sobbing.

I immediately felt terrible.  It is so easy to forget what shaky ground our foster children stand on.  My simple joke was not at all funny to Little Boy.

I quickly picked him up and brought him to the living room.  I hugged him, assured him I wouldn’t eat his cake and wiped his tears.

“Little Boy, you don’t ever have to worry about us taking away food from you.  We will never let you be hungry.”  Tears still streaming down his face, he smiled tentatively.  I continued, “You belong here with us just like Big Boy and TD.  If we run out of food, all we have to do is go to the store and get more.  We will always have food here and we will always give you what you need to eat.”  He hugged me and patted my back tenderly (one of his traits) and shakily said, “ooohhh…..ok.”

What burdens these little ones have to bear.  I don’t know how he was treated in his past placements), but I know that I need to assure him on every level while he is in our home.  He is a GEM.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

