Pause. Monday, December 14, 2009

Moments that make you pause.

Like:  This afternoon, big boy woke up from nap and came to snuggle with me.  As I rocked him, I wondered to myself if there was a time I did not know him.  Is it true that we met only a few months ago?

OR

Like:  Today when he went to play in the backyard all bundled up with his hat, gloves, and puffy coat.  As he is halfway down our back deck stairs, in perfect timing, he pivots and looks at me as much as his hat would allow and says, “I love you.”

At what point did he become so part of this home?

Technically, the moment he walked in.

But apart from that, at what point did he become an extension of us?  When did he become so seamlessly part of this regular married couple?

Being a foster parent means getting to be part of his life and the lives of others.  It is amazing to think we will love each child just as much as him – and in a number of years I will ask myself about many children:  “Did we really just meet?”

And I have to pause.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pause. Monday, December 14, 2009

  1. Kristi Lundgren
    Beautiful!!! Heaven rejoices, Dana, for all the love you are showing to these children. God is loving them….through you. As always, thank you for sharing this journey with us.
    Monday, December 14, 2009 – 08:27 PM

Leave a Reply

