Overwhelmed Thursday, October 22, 2009

I am sorry it has taken me so long to update my blog.  It has been a very full week that we have truly enjoyed – that allowed little time for blogging!

My house is TOTALLY disorganized, but our hearts are warmed!

We live in an old house with small closets.  For years we used baby’s room as an alternative “walk-in” closet.  Now, we are moving clothing, dressers, and organizing – and we are not near done!

However, little feet have been kissed, big boy’s arms have raised to hug us, and we are OVERWHELMED.

I have decided to call the kids “big boy” (4 year old boy) and “baby” (1 week old baby girl).  They both have nicknames from us already and have snuggled right into our home and hearts.

It is amazing to know confidently that God picked out these children to be in our home.  Before they arrived, on Monday the 12th, I was very impressed in my heart to begin praying for God to move His hand on behalf of the kids that were to be in our home.  Specifically, it was my prayer that if the process needed to be changed around and shifted in order to allow the children to come to our house – that God would do that work.  My heart prayed that whatever hurdle might be there – that it would be overcome.  Amazingly, this is the day baby was born.

I never told anyone except Jeff and a few personal friends that it was my secret desire to have a baby and then another child that Jeff could play with.

As the children were brought to our home, the case workers talked amongst themselves with every agency acronym in their employee handbook.  I had no idea what they were talking about, but picked up on the fact this was an unusual situation.  I asked them, “Am I catching that this placement has been unusual in how it came to us?”  The case workers expressively told me that this was definitely different than most placements.  Baby had been kept in the hospital for an extra day while they looked for placement decisions, and so on and so forth.

Big boy has the cutest speech and loves words of affirmation.  “Yook, I did it!  I’m a big boy!”  (Hence his blog nickname ‘big boy’).  The other day, Jeff and big boy put together baby’s crib and big boy got to actually use the allen wrench to put it together.  In the middle of using his new tool, he twisted around, hugged Jeff, and said, “You’re my friend.”  I caught it on video and wish I could share it with you all, because it was the MOST adorable moment.

Baby looks at us with her warm eyes already and moves her body when she hears Jeff speak.  You see, she and Jeff have become sleeping buddies.  She only likes to sleep on his chest.  She hears him and thinks she is about to enter into blessed sleep.  ha ha!  When I hold her, she opens her mouth instantly.  She knows I am the feeding queen.  It is so amazing to see her angelic mouth open in trust that it will be filled…

Even in the groggiest of sleepy moments, I am touched to my core that God allowed these two precious, specific children to come to our home.

Oh how loved we feel by God to be able to love these children.  His presence is near and tangible in these moments.

Thank you Jesus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overwhelmed Thursday, October 22, 2009

  1. Monica Smith
    Oh Dana, this is so much fun to read! I just love hearing how the kids are bonding to you and Jeff, and how you prayed for them even before they came to you. You are doing such a great job! I’m so happy to hear everyone is doing well 🙂 Love, Monica
    Thursday, October 22, 2009 – 08:01 PM

  2. Mel
    Dana, first, Glory to God for all He has done!
    You are very gifted in so many ways, and as I read this new blog, I just found another gifting in you…writting! Your Mother’s heart is so precious and real, you have warmed this Mother’s heart today. Your feelings toward baby and big boy are expressed so well in your writing, that it’s almost as if I am sitting next to you as you speak of your love for them. I’m not easily moved by many blogs, as there are so many out there, but Dana, yours is one to be cherished. Thank you for taking the time to share in all of the Lord’s greatness. I cannot wait to see baby and big boy again!
    Friday, October 23, 2009 – 10:48 AM

  3. Mary Beth
    Dana.. how wonderful! I am so happy for you. I can’t wait to meet Big Boy and baby!!!
    Friday, October 23, 2009 – 12:59 PM

Leave a Reply

