Ode to Jeff – Happy Valentine’s Day, Babe! Sunday, February 14, 2010

My first date with Jeff was exactly 7 years ago today!

Looking back at some of my writings, I thought I would share how Jeff and I came together:

Jeff was at every prayer meeting and helped with the Saturday kids program at Revival Tabernacle. Anytime something was needed in the church, Jeff was there. When my roommates and I needed help moving things, he would come help us if a home cooked meal was involved!  He was a good man, but there was never even a thought of romance between us………we have an age difference.

We were on a totally different page, or so we thought! Little did we know that God was writing the story of our lives before we ever acknowledged each other one bit.

In 2002, I went to a Darlene Zschech concert with a guy who held my attention at that time. “By chance”, Jeff sat to my left. The guy next to me was ‘non-responsive’ and was not interested in carrying conversation. But, Jeff was very warm and friendly. He was wearing a yellow fleece jacket and leaned toward me while we talked and listened intently when I spoke. He was warm and caring and it was endearing! For a brief moment, I thought, “What about Jeff?” Instantly, my mind went into lock-down mode: clink, clink, clank, clank… No way! He is too old!

Jeff and his friends were going out to eat after the concert and I joined them. We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed our time together. Apparently, following the meal, Jeff’s friends told him privately, “She is your future wife.”  Jeff refused this idea also, stating, “She is too young!”

Fast-forward about one year. In January 2003, Jeff and I began to talk a little more. I do not remember how or when it all started. Out of the blue, deeper friendship was blooming. He actually called to chat on the phone with me when we were not at church and I was liking it.

We had our first date February 14, 2003, were engaged 3 months later, and were married December of that same year.

We knew that we were stepping into marriage with someone approved of by God, our family, our Pastor, and friends. We were walking in the blessing of what it is to be in the center of His will.  In fact, our wedding day was a day I would describe as “slow motion”. It was the most wonderful day of my life apart from knowing Christ. It was as though the whole world only contained Jeff and I that day. The surrounding images of others are blurry in my memory, but I remember Jeff in crystal clear fashion. Our eyes spoke, our lips promised, and our hearts were truly bound, in the presence of God, as one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ode to Jeff – Happy Valentine’s Day, Babe! Sunday, February 14, 2010

  1. The Lundgrens
    Sweet!!! I love to hear real life love stories. 🙂
    Wednesday, February 17, 2010 – 12:19 PM

Leave a Reply

