My Beautiful Daughter Wednesday, March 17, 2010

I know I have been slack on posting updates about TD.

Mainly, because the dynamics of a teenager – parent relationship are a little different than a 4 or 5 year old.  The relationship dynamic is JUST as great, and sometimes even more of a highlight as we can communicate on an adult level.  But, we are also going through our time of adjustment living together.  And I have to say 95% of it has been awesome.  We’ve had our bumps while figuring each other out, but she just fits with us.  It is as though we’ve always had this space in our hearts and home for TD – and now that she is here with us – it just doesn’t belong to anyone else but her.

She is a beauty inside and out.

She is getting fabulous grades.

She is a good example to her schoolmates.  Maybe I will share an example sometime.

Most of all, we love her for who she is:  Her sense of humor, personality, soft heart – well – everything all combined that makes up TD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Beautiful Daughter Wednesday, March 17, 2010

  1. Robeyn
    I must say it takes a special love to raise a teenager, even if you have raised them from birth. It seems they become this whole new person once they hit that 13/14 age and you almost literally are getting to know them all over again. They have thoughts and opinons and stuff. Yuck! Gone are the days when I could dress them, feed them, comb their hair anyway I wanted to. So I think you are just starting almost about where most parents would be starting this stage. You just took the shortcut 🙂 Yes, we have somewhat of an advantage, but I promise you, not much.

    Be encouraged! You are doing an amazing job. Just the fact that you said yes in the first place is huge.

    My Iz loooooves TD. Anybody who knows Iz, know thats something. She has to be an amazing girl.
    Wednesday, March 17, 2010 – 02:05 PM

  2. Laurie
    Robeyn is right. Children do change when they hit their teens. We are blessed at RT to have such great teens that would welcome TD into the group with such open arms! I know that Tori loves TD as well as do all of us parents. We hope she feels the love from all of us at RT. She is a very special girl and you are so blessed to have her in your home and vice versa. God is shaping her and molding her into the woman He would have her become and just think of the influence you will have in God’s plan for her! You are a beautiful woman of God and I know TD will live by your example one day. You say that she is not “mushy”, but I think secretly she likes that Mushiness side of you! Teens may not like hugs and cards and kisses from the adults in their life, but we shouldn’t stop showing our affection toward them. This is the time in their life that they need to feel our love the most!
    I guess all this to say, yes they need a little breathing room at this age but they also need to feel our love more and I know TD feels love from you and Jeff in your home! She is blessed!! Enjoy the journey!!
    Friday, March 19, 2010 – 08:39 AM

  3. Monica
    TD is amazing. Thanks for all your postings Dana, I am so happy for you guys and Little Boy now! I’m so glad you have a blog so I can keep up with all the exciting changes 🙂
    Love, Monica
    Thursday, March 18, 2010 – 10:29 AM

Leave a Reply

