Highlighters Tuesday, December 8, 2009

I am realizing more than ever that this journey with foster parenting has its ups and downs.  I need to be more realistic.  Not to just bank on the incredible moments, but to also keep those moments balanced with the fact that we are all human and have our rough hours, days, or weeks.

I am reminding myself not to expect high moments all the time.  Having regular days are great.  And when those “highlighter marker” days come, well….those are fantabulous.

Nothing is wrong with normal.

Just as our sanctification through Christ is not banked on our “highlighter moments”, but on our daily walk – so is parenting.  It is the day-to-day, regular moments that determine how great we are as parents.

I found myself asking for extra doses of God’s mercy as big boy had a disappointing day yesterday.  His disappointment caused him to exhibit hyperactivity and out of character behavior.

I found myself needing to pray often, even though I have been feeling dry of late, for mercy from God.  I was then reminded that HIS mercies are new every morning.

As I saw big boy acting in a way that is not himself, I began to realize in a small way how God must see us.  Similar to how God sees our past, present and future – I was observing big boy in wider perspective.

I could see big boy acting one way, but I was able to put into perspective who he really is, hope for his future and the great love I have for him.  I was saying to myself, “This is not him.  This is not the big boy I know.” (and it was not denial – ha ha)

To think God sees me in a similar way was truly comforting.

Though I always have a highlighter behind my ear eager for the fantabulous moments, I am completely grateful for the normal ones too…and for mercy straight from God.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highlighters Tuesday, December 8, 2009

  1. Kristi Lundgren
    Love this post!!!
    Monday, December 14, 2009 – 08:29 PM

Leave a Reply

