Happiness. Friday, February 12, 2010

As Christians, we are encouraged to chase after joy…

Happiness is only an emotion, but joy is something we can choose despite any situation we are going through.  The actual living out of this truth has been part of our personal journey – ever since the day we lost our honeymoon baby.

But today…..I am……HAPPY.  My heart is filled to the brim.

Joy will remain no matter how I feel tomorrow.

But today….I am ……..HAPPY.

It was my first time to pick up my teenage daughter from a youth group event.  As the girls streamed out of vehicles returning from a bowling trip, my eyes drifted to the girls I would be taking home in our carpool.  They stood in the dark parking lot giggling in a close knit friend sort of way.  As I saw TD laugh without reservation, joking with the other girls – my heart bounced with happiness.  To see her in her own skin with walls down was – well, AWESOME!  We’ve been experiencing this a lot lately…a lowering of the walls.  As it happens more frequently, my heart practically bursts at the seams.  She would think I am being too mushy, but WOW, we love this girl.  We love her for who she is…

Then, as big boy gulped up a bedtime snack, I read a magazine at our dining room table.  He talked away, a mile a minute.  I honestly don’t recall everything he had to say, but it was a cute moment…  The expressions on his face, his hand gestures and big chocolate eyes.  I mean, could he get any cuter?  It was a cozy moment.

Today…I am happy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happiness. Friday, February 12, 2010

  1. Kathy
    How awsome!!! I was wondering how TD is doing. It’s great the see God’s hand at work!
    Tuesday, February 16, 2010 – 08:46 PM

Leave a Reply

