“God, I BITE my hand!” Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Last night, when big boy should have already been asleep, his door popped open.  “Miss Dana, I have a boo-boo on my hand.”

I directed him to come to where I was.

He announced to me in his 4 year old improper english, “I bite my hand,” with eyebrows raised in a serious pout.

I am starting to correlate this biting of the hand to him feeling pain inside and trying to feel it on the outside.  I am not sure if it is truly this or not.  It could be a habit as he says he bit his hand before living with us too.

I lifted him to my lap and said, “You know when you are hurting on the inside, you can talk to me or Mr. Jeff anytime.  We love to listen to what you are feeling.”

He nodded his head energetically and added, “And I can talk to God.”  (We have often reminded him that God is his friend all the time.  Even if he feels no one can understand, he can talk to God and He will always understand.)

He said, “I am going to pray right now!”  I said, “That is awesome.”

He lifted his head confidently and loudly prayed, “God I BITE my hand!”

I busted out laughing!!!!  I am sorry, I couldn’t contain it!!!  The timing of it and the factual, serious 4-year-old tone of voice just did it in for me!  I am laughing right now just remembering it!

I apologized quickly and told him he was doing a great job….still trying to hold my laughter in.

He continued on…  “And God, I love you SO much.  You died on the cross for me, you love me, and You’re my best friend.  But God, I BITE my hand!  I need you to protect me all the time.  In Jesus name I pray, amen.”

All laughter aside – I know God was pleased with him that night!  It is not a mistake that God directs us in His Word to come to Him as a little child.  He just wants our pure honest selves presented before Him.

Off to bed big boy went – not another sound to be heard until morning.

God answered his prayer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “God, I BITE my hand!” Tuesday, December 1, 2009

  1. Liz
    The lessons that you are teaching him will be carried with him forever. What a blessing that is! God will definitely honor that little boy’s prayer. There is no situation that little guy has been through that God can’t heal. You never know also if what he’s been through will be used later for God’s glory as he grows up. To think that you and Jeff are a part of that, is so awesome. Continue to show him the way to Jesus! For He is everything that little boy needs! And He’s everything that you and Jeff need to be the most awesome foster parents to him and any other children that the Lord has for you.
    Tuesday, December 1, 2009 – 03:48 PM

  2. Rebekah
    This is beautiful. I’m touched and inspired!
    Thursday, December 3, 2009 – 08:01 PM

Leave a Reply

