Full Time! Tuesday, January 12, 2010

I will never forget how I came to Revival Tabernacle, eight years ago:

Following graduation, I needed to intern at a church (as part of my degree). I thought Chicago was the city for me. I had a dream that I was ministering in the streets of the inner city of Chicago and when they interviewed me to intern with them, I was sure this was where I was headed. To my surprise, I received a call a few days later that my application to intern with them had been denied. I was truly taken back by this as I was sure Chicago was the city God wanted me to be in.

Shortly after, Pastor Tim Dilena, who had ministered at a memorable Spiritual Emphasis night years earlier, came to interview for interns to minister in the inner city of Highland Park, MI.  My interview, looking back, is something to really have a good laugh at! I told Pastor Tim that “I don’t really think I am called to Detroit, MI. I haven’t heard from God on this. Can I please get back to you in a few days?” HA! I will never forget Pastor Tim saying, “There are times when God lets you make a decision in life. He will give you Path A and Path B. Neither are really wrong decisions. If Path B has the ministry opportunities you are looking for, sometimes He will allow us to make the decision.” Well, Highland Park had the ministries I was looking for! I had a heart for the inner city and wanted to minister to those in need. I was about as naive as anyone could be, but I called Pastor Tim back the next day and accepted his offer to intern.

The day after I accepted his offer, Chicago called me back! They wanted me to come after all. But, I had been trained by my parents that when you commit, you commit. There is no going back on a commitment. So, I kindly told Chicago that I had accepted Pastor Tim Dilena’s internship at Revival Tabernacle in Highland Park, MI. Their response was, “Wow! You will have a wonderful internship. He is a great pastor to work with.”

And right they were! I had a positive intern experience, ended up moving here, making this my church home, and even getting married here (the best day ever apart from coming to know Jesus)!  Through a series of events, I also came on staff at RT five years ago.

It has been a wonderful five years! I’ve had wonderful opportunities to sit under the wisdom of Pastor Tim – even as an office manager.  Often in staff meetings he would share what God was revealing to him in a short scripture or even through his children.  Time and time again he has held his tongue when he could have shown off his knowledge and wisdom – and instead listened.  He listens to the heart of the matter and brings Jesus into the conversation.  He is truly a person that inspires you to know Christ better…  And a great boss too!

In addition, Pastor Tim pushed us as staff not settle for second best because we minister in an inner city.  We are to always provide excellence in absolutely everything we do.  Whether it be a bulletin, insert, or a huge event, such as, War Week – we give it our best.

I think that of all the areas of ministry training, this has been the most valuable lesson to me.  It is not about the “grand stage” of being on the platform or ministering with a song in the spotlight.  No, not at all.  Instead, did we fold our napkins correctly for a Pastoral Banquet – or – are our guests offered water or coffee?  Do we fix typos or provide the best quality promo designs we are capable of?  Another way to word it – Do we refuse to be lazy?

I’ve learned this lesson and many more while here at Revival Tabernacle…It has been a wonderful journey.

You might be asking why am I writing in past tense?

It is because we are happy to announce that I will now become a full time foster mother!

This Friday is my last day at the Church Office.

I am not a person that is meant to work a job and mother children.  If children are in my home, I want them to be on my hip, at my feet, or in my eyesight.  I want to be the one to teach them the alphabet, tie their shoes, and share the regular day to day activities.

After much time and prayer making this decision, both Jeff and agreed I was to stay home with big boy, TD and other foster children to come.

I am sad to leave this working environment (which included everything from tons of laughter to high impact ministry).  But I am excited to enter into the area of stay at home foster mom ministry (my new title – ha ha).

I am looking forward to the days ahead with much anticipation.  I feel I will be exactly where I was made to be.

And that is a FINE place to be.

As a sidenote:  Just to be sure I am totally clear – we are NOT leaving Revival Tabernacle at all.  This is our church home!  I just won’t be employed by the church.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Full Time! Tuesday, January 12, 2010

  1. Anonymous
    WOW Dana, This is truly a SAD and AWSOME moment. You have touched many lives through your job/ministry as office manager at RT. But, I believe God is truly calling you to an even HIGHER PURPOSE as MOM to all the foster children and their families He is going to place in your home. I also believe that in the near future God is going to BLESS you and Jeff with children of your own! Yes, I said Children of your own!!! I believe that the hurt and disappointment you have experienced in childbearing was to lead you to the HIGHER PURPOSE, first touching the lives of others through fostering children and ministering to their families (which would have been lost if you had given birth to your own children first). You have a BIG heart and a very special way of ministering to people… and God is going to bless your faithfulness, with children of your own also. BELIEVE IN MIRACALES!!! He is a miracle working God!
    Wednesday, January 13, 2010 – 09:30 AM

  2. Dana
    Thank you so much…Your words are very kind and encouraging. Even though I don’t know who you are….thank you! 🙂
    Thursday, January 14, 2010 – 09:38 AM

  3. Anonymous
    Sorry Dana I didn’t mean to be anonymous. I am just not very computerliterate in some areas. My grand kids teach me a lot. But I need them around all the time! LOL Even Natalya (22 months) knows more then me. Now that is really SAD! ):

    Kathy
    Thursday, January 14, 2010 – 11:22 AM

  4. Dana
    Thanks Kathy!
    Thursday, January 14, 2010 – 11:34 AM

  5. The Lundgrens
    Excited for you, friend!!! Being a full-time mom (funny title, isn’t it? Are those who work outside the home part-time moms? HA!!)
    is wonderful. Of course, the job comes with it’s own moments of insanity =) but I think it’ll suit you just right.
    Friday, January 15, 2010 – 08:37 PM

  6. Dana
    Thanks Kristi… Insanity fits me perfectly, so all should be good. J/K 🙂
    Saturday, January 16, 2010 – 01:05 AM

  7. Anonymous
    Dana, it is with inner joy that I congratulate you on being a full-time-foster mom! I know it was a hard decision in ways but it will be the most rewarding and most fulfilling jobs you will ever have! I love being a stay at home mom and Homeschool mom!! I love just being with my kids and learning their different personalities and even working with them on their strengths and weaknesses.
    Take the time to cherish every moment and pour Jesus into them! This world is too busy and it great just to be able to take that time with our kids instead of the world swallowing them up. If that makes any sense! God will take care of your finances and will reward you for your sacrificial love for these children in your home! He will bless you and bless them as well!
    We love you and if there is anything we can do to help, you know where to find us!LOL

    Laurie
    Friday, January 22, 2010 – 10:10 AM

  8. Dana
    Thanks Laurie!
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 – 10:40 AM

Leave a Reply

