Everything Is Going To Be OK. Saturday, April 24, 2010

My Little Boy is a combination of things.

He is a sweet-hearted boy that is VERY smart.  He LOVES to read books.  He would love to be in school right now (those details are being worked on).  He is energetic, full of fluent conversation and loves to be the center of attention.

He also came from a complete lack of structure.  That means, he ran his own show for the first 3 years of his life.  Therefore, I will admit there are consistent challenges we face each day.  Overall, we are working very hard – with appropriate foster care discipline – to let him know he is NOT going to run our household.  The bosses of this home are Daddy and Mommy and NOT him.

A typical scenario might be, “Go to the bathroom.”  His response, “I think I am going to brush my teeth first.”

It is not that brushing his teeth in itself if misbehaving.  But, in the small ways, he is trying to be in charge.

I will be honest, there are times it is frustrating.  But, on the other hand, there are times my heart is filled with compassion.  Though I remain firm on the outside, I know these behaviors are simply due to him not being disciplined at an early age.

Last night, Little Sister threw up while we were in the car.  She hadn’t been feeling too great, but I was surprised she threw up.  We were all moving in action (thank goodness for TD who helped clean while I continued driving home).

However, Little Brother’s response nearly brought me to tears.  His face showed distress and said, “It’s Ok, Little Sister.  Everything’s going to be ok.  Do you want to hold my hand?  Don’t worry, we will be home soon.  Ohhh, Little Sister.  Don’t cry….”  He continued the whole ride home to say comforting words to her.  He reached out to her and cared for her.

In spite of the behaviors he displays, it is easy to see his heart is full of love and I can’t wait to see who he will become in the journey of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everything Is Going To Be OK. Saturday, April 24, 2010

  1. Alexandria
    He is an amazing little boy and I’m truly blessed that he is with great parents that can help him readjust in these areas of discipline.
    Sunday, April 25, 2010 – 02:09 PM

Leave a Reply

