Backseat Conversations Wednesday, April 28, 2010

This was the conversation that took place in my car today:

“Mommy, do you remember when those people took me the Children’s Center [another foster care agency] and left me?”

“Yes.”

“I was so scared when they did that.  Then you came and got me at the Children’s Center, but I didn’t know your name yet.”

“Yes, I did come get you.”

“Yeah, you wanted me.  You aren’t gonna drop me off like the other people did.”

“No, we won’t.  We love you.”

“Yeah, and now you call me your son.  You picked me and you’re not gonna leave me.  You love me and God made me special.”

“Yes, that’s right.  God made you special, we picked you and we love you.”

“And I picked you too.  I wanted to come to your house.  And I love you, Mommy.”

When I repeated this story to my husband by phone today, I had to hold my tears in…  One small conversation from our Little Boy revealed so much going on in his heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Backseat Conversations Wednesday, April 28, 2010

  1. Alexandria
    That was amazing…it made me cry that this little boy finally knows that He is special and loved! I thank God for you and your husband for being awesome people with so much love to give!!!
    Wednesday, April 28, 2010 – 01:53 PM

  2. Kristi Lundgren
    Wow!!
    How precious is this?! My heart is so happy for these children…that they finally can start to feel what safety, stability and love really feel like.
    Oh, this is just a beautiful entry, Dana. I’m betting you will NEVER forget this conversation!!
    Thursday, April 29, 2010 – 06:29 PM

  3. Veronica
    I cried too!! God is so good!
    Thursday, April 29, 2010 – 06:47 PM

  4. Monica
    Oh Dana, I’m just speechless! This is so special. Praise God!
    Thursday, April 29, 2010 – 08:23 PM

  5. Jenni Keating
    Oh my gosh Dana – so sweet! Thanks for sharing. What a beautiful, beautiful thing that is happening in his heart. You guys are doing an amazing job.
    Saturday, May 1, 2010 – 01:27 PM

Leave a Reply

