A Simple Highchair Can Be Enough. Wednesday, March 31, 2010

If you were to guess one thing going through my brain at any given moment, without me speaking…  It would be an internal prayer to God about something I am thankful for.  (Sandwiched in between:  I can’t get anything done -OR- Please stop fighting -OR- Make sure to tell the boys ‘good job’ when they do a good job -OR- Well…I think you get the point).

I am not setting myself up to sound like a saint.  Because I am NOT one.

But I am always aware mentally of all around me I don’t deserve.

It is not that my husband and I have “much”, per say.  I am just so grateful for what I do have.

I remember with complete clarity the time I only had one potato to my name and several days before I could buy groceries.  Or the time my gas tank was miraculously filled with gas while I was in church wondering how I would get home with no gas.  I remember so many examples of God’s faithfulness when I had NOTHING.

The times of having NOTHING could be summarized into two words:  “Sweet Suffering.”  Though I was in my lowest physical and financial situation, I was at my highest moment of relationship with God.  The bare necessities of life, instead of living with much, has a way of keeping you on your knees before God.

Now, when I look around me, I am utterly grateful.  I am grateful for the simple things.  I am grateful that I have a wonderful, gentle husband who cares for my heart and our family’s needs.  I am grateful for the children in my home…  peanut butter faces, sticky popsicle hands, and bursts of laughter.  I am grateful that my house has high ceilings and dark old trim full of character.  I am grateful we drive a 7 year old car that still drives well.  Like I said, it is not that we have much, but I am grateful for every single thing that God has provided for me.  “Nothing” to “Something” doesn’t have to be “Much” to create a heart of thankfulness.

And….  I am grateful for our new highchair.

Highchair?

Yes, for the highchair.

This is what amazes me about God.  He is so out-of-the-world enormous, yet He cares for each of us individually.

I never said this to Jeff or to anyone – but I have always secretly hoped that when I had to get a highchair, it would match my house’s wood trim and my dining room set.  I didn’t want navy blue checkers on white plastic…  I don’t know why I cared about it, but I did.

I’d seen several craigslist ads for wooden highchairs, but they were a lighter, more modern wood color.  I wasn’t totally against a lighter wood, but I said to myself, “Wouldn’t it be neat if they made a highchair the same color as our dining room set?”

As I was searching on craigslist, I didn’t see anything similar to my mind’s vision and began to solicit prices from sellers for the lighter wood highchairs.  As I was needing a highchair more urgently, I entered an unusual word search in craigslist on a whim.  I don’t even remember what the actual wording was.  I just remember thinking it would yield zero results.  To my surprise, two or three entries popped up.  One entry said, “Baby Items”.  As I clicked on it – lo, and behold, there was a highchair that not only matched my wood trim, but had a fabric print seat/back cover that matched my dining room wall color.

It wasn’t brand new, but that didn’t matter to me.

For a grand total of $30.00, my highchair wish came true.

Each time I walk by it in my dining room, gratefulness floods me.

Thank you, Lord, for paying attention to the little things.  You continually draw me closer to you through your kindness to me.

Miracles don’t have to be huge to bring our attention to Jesus.  A simple highchair can be enough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Simple Highchair Can Be Enough. Wednesday, March 31, 2010

  1. Kathy
    God is so faithful even in the little things, which are big things to us.
    Tuesday, April 6, 2010 – 07:46 AM

Leave a Reply

